Information updated February 2019

For those who love to fly airplanes – or jump out of them – the Winsted Municipal Airport is an exhilarating place to spend a day.

The airport is located at 3234 230th Street, on the southwest edge of Winsted. It became city property in 1962. In late 2011, construction began on a 1,100-square-foot airport arrival/departure building, which replaced a 700-square-foot terminal from the 1980s. In June 2012, the building was dedicated in honor of Winsted resident Russ Paschke.

Paschke, 87, passed away about six months later, in December 2012. A plaque in Paschke’s name is on display at the arrival/departure building, serving as a reminder of the countless hours Paschke spent maintaining the airport and keeping it safe for others.

Paschke was involved with the airport for 35 years and served as airport commission chair since 1988. He was also the airport manager, monitoring and conducting maintenance at the facility, and calling in the status of the runway.

In the winter, when the runway was closed because of heavy snowfall, Paschke was the one who would walk out to the field through the snowdrifts to turn off the runway lights, letting pilots know the runway was closed.

Capital improvements

Maintenance and improvements to keep the airport a viable asset to the city and its hangar owners have been done through annual capital improvement projects, with the majority of costs paid for through federal funding. Recommendations and priorities of various upgrades are made by the airport commission, with final approval given by the Winsted City Council.

In 2017, the council approved a turf reconstruction project for the runway. The project will likely be completed in 2019 or 2020.

New Airport Commission

Winsted’s airport commission was reinstated at the beginning of 2018. The commission includes:

  • Brenda Vetsch, member-at-large
  • Rick Stodola, hangar owner
  • David Hanus, hangar owner
  • Jeff Campbell, resident
  • Glenn Weibel, resident
  • Steve Stotko, mayor/city council liaison
  • Adam Birkholz, ex-officio


Skydive Twin Cities West (formerly Skydive the Lakes) is the newest skydiving center owned and operated by Skydive Twin Cities. To learn more, call 763-333-6592 or go to