Wildcats Baseball

Winsted Wildcat’s pitcher Alex Heimerl warms up before a game.

Information updated January, 2024

Sports Editor

The 2023 season for the Winsted Wildcats was an exciting one. Coming off a year in which wins were hard to come by, the young Wildcats squad strung together some wins playing in the Crow River Valley League. Winsted finished with a league record of 5-14 finishing just ahead of the New Germany Dutchmen due to a tiebreaker.
The success of the Wildcats this past season was a big part of keeping their rich baseball tradition going. In 2021 Winsted added a new scoreboard to the park along with several other projects that were done to improve Denis M. Campbell Field. The hard work and effort paid off in a big way as the Wildcats hosted the 2021 Region 7C Tournament and had more than 3,000 fans attend games across the two weekends for the tournament. Across the state, Region 7C was No. 1 in attendance per game and No. 3 for attendance overall.
The Watertown Red Devils were the tournament champions as they defeated the Waconia Lakers in the championship game.
History of the Wildcats
The Winsted Wildcats have four members in the Minnesota Amateur Baseball Hall of Fame. They are Denis M. Campbell (1980), Francis Kappel (1989), Ken Norman (2001), and Denis “Soup” Campbell (2012).